Catalina Architecture & Design Ltd TT Series 2023 – Round 10

The local 10 weekly time trial was proving as exciting as the Tour de France, with some great local battles between riders!

The north westerly wind was against the riders heading out, especially by Blaengeuffordd and didn’t really seem to help much on the return leg, maybe this was more to do with the tiring legs! A special mention to the fantastic encouragement at the halfway turn from Osian!

The overall men saw a really exciting battle, with Caron coming out on top this week with 21.46, he is edging closer to take back his course record from Richard Pizzey, only 6 seconds faster on this course. In second place, Ieuan Andy in top form from racing the British nationals in 22.20 and completing the podium in an absolutely incredible time on a road bike, Jack Ramsbottom in 23.07.

In the women’s event and edging under the 27 minute barrier, Anita took the podium in 26.58.

The road bike category saw all the riders come under the 30 minute barrier, which on this rolling course is good going! The winner, in a fantastic time of 23.07, was Jack Ramsbottom. Then coming across the line in second place, Andy Hicklin in 24.33. It’s been great to welcome Andy from Peak Road Club while he has been here in Aberystwyth. Completing the podium, and proving that holiday legs weren’t going to hold him back, Arwel Jones in 25.16.

Thanks to Andy, Derek, Scott and Osian for making the event possible and to all the riders that took on the 10 mile course!

Next week is a chance for riders to try a different course at a slightly earlier start time (6.30pm). Starting at Nant yr Arian, and heading down to Lovesgrove roundabout and back again. Details of all our TT courses can be found here. Everyone welcome, come along to set a time on this course. If it’s your first time you’re guaranteed a PB! All the upcoming dates for the series can be found here.

Catalina Architecture & Design Ltd TT Series 2023. Round 10. Cwmrheidol 10
Caron Owen Pugh 21.46
Ieuan Andrew Davies 22.20
Jack Ramsbottom R 23.07
Andy Hicklin R 24.33
Arwel Wyn Jones R 25.16
Reggie Middleton R 25.44
Anita Saycell 26.58
Tim Strang R 29.07
Time Keepers & marshal’s
Derek Rattray & Scott Tompsett

R = No tri bars