Catalina Architecture & Design Ltd TT Series 2023 – Round 12

With only two chances left this season to ride the faster Llety Gwyn course, eight riders turned out to test themselves on the well established 10 mile TT course.

The predicted rain stayed away and the North Westerly wind proved in the favour of the cyclists, with some great times (and course records) on the night.

It promised to be an exciting night with the 2023 Cwm Rheidol course record breakers, Caron and Rich both riding head to head to battle it out on the Llety Gwyn course.

The men’s overall race didn’t disappoint, both Richard and Caron went faster than the club record set in 2022 by Caron himself (21.56). However, it was Richard Pizzey to cross the line first in 21.33 and followed closely (only two seconds behind!) by Caron in 21.35, for second place. Ieuan Andy completed the podium with 22.21, riding strongly and showing his form this season.

In the women’s race, Emma Palfrey took the win with a great ride, crossing the line in 25.41.

In the road bike category it was great to welcome back to Aberystwyth, Andrew Knowles. Andrew took the road bike win on the night, with his swift time of 26.14. In second place, and setting some fast times this season in the V60 category Tim Strang, 29.34.

With only four time trials left in the series, riders have a couple of chances left to test themselves. Next week, the series returns to the scenic Cwm Rheidol 10 mile course, starting at the Butterfly Farm. Everyone welcome.

Huge thanks to Andy H, Derek, Scott and Glyn for making the TT this week possible, keeping us safe, and to all the riders for taking part and supporting the event.

Overall Men

1st – Richard Pizzey 21.33 (New Club Course Record)

2nd – Caron Owen Pugh 21.35

3rd – Ieuan Andrew Davies 22.21

Overall Ladies

1st – Emma Palfrey 25.41

2nd – Anita Saycell 26.23

Men’s road bike category winners:

1st – Andrew Knowles 26.14

2nd – Tim Strang 29.34

Catalina Architecture & Design Ltd TT Series 2023 Round 12 – Llety Gwyn 10
Richard Pizzey 21.33
Caron Owen Pugh 21.35
Ieuan Andrew Davies 22.21
Emma Palfrey 25.41
Andrew Knowles R 26.14
Anita Saycell 26.23
Tim Strang R 29.34
Arwel Wyn Jones DNF
Timekeepers & Marshal’s
Derek Rattray, Scott Tompsett & Glyn Williams