Catalina Architecture TT Series Round 5 -Cwm Rheidol

With the promise of reasonable weather , eighteen riders had pre-entered to take on the Cwm Rheidol 10 mile time trial for round five of the Catalina Architecture TT Series.

With a south easterly wind the riders had a helping hand to the halfway turnaround at Lovesgrove roundabout but had to work hard to maintain their speed on the return leg.

The road bike category was hotly contested with Rhodri Jenkins storming over the line in 25.55, placing him 6th rider overall. Second over the line was Will Thomas with another fast road bike time of 26.39 and junior rider improving week on week Llion Rees-Jenkins with a fantastic 27.39.

The ladies road bike category saw junior rider Lowri Richards set a season’s course best with 27.41 earning her the win on the night. Elaine Rowlands crossed the line in second place and also set a personal course best for the year with 31.54 and placing 1st V50.

The overall win on the night went to Josh Tarling in a superb 20.57, matching his previous time and course junior record. Ieuan Andy Davies crossed the line second with a new personal best time and earning himself the V50 course record, with 22.17. Third overall place went to Caron Pugh, who continues to lower his times each week and finished in 22.42 with a new personal best time.

The ladies overall win went to Anita Saycell finishing in 26.50, second lady across the line was junior rider Lowri Richards in 27.41 and completing the podium Elaine Rowlands in 31.54.

Well done to all the riders taking on the Cwm Rheidol course, and a special mention to all the juniors riding their first season of time trials, Llion, Gerwyn and Gwion and improving week on week. Thanks also to the time keepers, marshals and to Aled Richards for the great photos.

Next week the riders are back on the Cwm Rheidol course.

Catalina Architecture TT Series Round 5 – 20th August 2020
Joshua Tarling 20.57
Ieuan Andrew Davies 22.17
Caron Owen Pugh 22.42
Finlay Tarling 22.47
Michael Tarling 25.08
Rhodri Jenkins 25.55
Will Thomas 26.39
Anita Saycell 26.50
Llion Rees-Jenkins 27.39
Lowri Richards 27.41
David Wright 28.41
Toby Driver 30.07
Elaine Rowlands 31.54
Gerwyn Humphreys 31.39
Gwion Humphreys 36.39
Scott Tompsett DNF
Rhys Evans DNF