Catalina Architecture TT Series Round 6 – Cwm Rheidol

For the first time ever all the local stars had pre-entered to ride the inaugural Catalina Architecture Ystwyth CC time trial starting in the scenic Rheidol Valley. It was going to be a great night to see who would come out on top.

One of the stars taking part, was none other than climbing specialist Stevie Williams, who is currently racing for Team Bahrain McLaren. His team mates include the likes of Mikel Landa and Mark Cavendish.

The next local star on the start list, is regularly seen racing the local time trials in between his racing schedule is Gruff Lewis, who races for Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling Team and is the current course record holder.

The next two up and coming riders to complete the star studded line up were the Tarling brothers, Josh racing for Backstedt Bike Performance Race Club and Finlay racing for WORX Factory Racing.

All 18 riders were treated to ideal conditions on the night with a gentle south westerly breeze to help them slightly on the return leg.

The first overall woman across the line and road bike category winner was junior rider Lowri Richards with 27.33 setting a new seasons best time and following in second place Elaine Rowlands with 31.36.

The road bike category saw Rhodri Jenkins take the win with 25.21, followed by Will Thomas 26.20 and completing the podium, junior rider Llion Rees-Jenkins, all setting new personal best times.

The battle of the local stars and overall positions saw junior rider Josh Tarling come out on top with a new course record 20.37, hot on his heels and only 14 seconds behind, Gruff Lewis crossed the line in 20.51 and Stevie Williams who is usually more at home racing with the pros up hills that a flat TT completed the podium in third place with 21.22.

Ystwyth CC first claim riders are also on top form with Caron Pugh edging closer to the senior club course record set by Gareth Hodgson in 2019 (22.22) , Caron crossed the line with 22.37. Rhys Jeffreys also clocked an impressive 23.01 to cross the line in 7th place.

It is great to see the club time trials back in full swing and a chance for the riders to test themselves against the clock each week.

Thanks to the time keepers and marshals for their help this week. The Catalina Architecture TT Series continues next week.

Catalina Architecture TT Series Round 6 -Cwm Rheidol

Joshua Tarling 20.37
Gruffudd Lewis 20.51
Stevie Williams 21.22
Finlay Tarling 21.51
Dafydd Wright 22.15
Caron Owen Pugh 22.37
Rhys Jeffreys 23.01
Rhodri Jenkins 25.21
Will Thomas 26.20
Llion Rees-Jenkins 27.04
Richard Thomas 27.21
Lowri Richards 27.33
David Wright 28.46
Liam Morgans 29.11
Toby Driver 29.32
Gerwyn Humphreys 30.37
Elaine Rowlands 31.36
Gwion Humphreys 32.54
Andy Hunt & Derek Rattray
Nia Richards & Helen Jackson

Photo Credits: Aled Richards