Round 15 Catalina Architecture TT Series – 11th August

It was the riders’ last chance to test themselves on the flatter 10 mile Llety Gwyn course as the end of the time trial season fast approaches.

Eight riders lined up to take on the course. The rain kept at bay but the south westerly breeze didn’t seem to help the riders much in either direction.

The conditions however proved no issue for the overall men’s winner, local pro rider Gruff Lewis. Gruff had a fantastic ride to equal his own course record set in 2018 with his time of 20.36. Next on the men’s podium, in second place was Ystwyth CC rider Caron Pugh with a strong ride and crossing the line in 23.10. In third place, and swapping the stopwatch for the TT bike was Andy Hunt in 24.21.

The overall ladies winner was Emma Palfrey, taking the top spot with a great ride to finish in 25.37. In second place Anita Saycell in 27.23 and completing the podium, Elaine Rowlands in 31.50.

The road bike men’s winner was Owen Thomas, making a return to the time trials with an impressive ride time of 29.51. In second place was the V70 course record holder, Martin Williams in 30.13.

The road bike ladies winner was the holder of the ladies V50 course record Elaine Rowlands, with a great ride and crossing the line in 31.50.

Well done and thank you to all the riders that competed on the night, and a thank you to the TT organisers, time keepers and chief marshall that assisted on the night to ensure the safety of the riders.

Next week the series returns to the Cwm Rheidol 10 mile course:

Catalina Architecture TT Series Round 15 – Llety Gwyn 10
Gruffudd Lewis 20.36
Caron Owen Pugh 23.10
Andy Hunt 24.21
Emma Palfrey 25.37
Anita Saycell 27.23
Owen Thomas 29.51
Martin Williams 30.13
Elaine Rowlands 31.50
Time Keepers
Derek Rattray & Andrew Davies
Chief Marshall
Scott Tompsett

Men’s winner and current course record holder – Gruff Lewis
Photo credit: Leeroy Mason