Round 11 Catalina Architecture TT Series – 14th July

It was a special night as the riders were privileged to be timed by Ken Williams and Glyn Evans, life members of Ystwyth CC. The ten riders on the start line enjoyed a tailwind on the way out, which made for some quick times to the turnaround but more of a battle on the return leg.

The men’s overall event saw Caron Pugh take the win with a strong ride, crossing the line in 22.49. Taking second place on the podium, Ciaran Rowett who stormed the course on his road bike to finish in 24.54. completing the podium in third overall place and setting a new V70 record on the course was Mike Fitch in 29.10.

In the ladies overall event Emma Palfrey stormed the course to set a new ladies fastest time of 25.33, showing her time trial strength this season. In second place was Anita Saycell in 27.30 and completing the podium in third place Elaine Rowlands in 31.35.

In the the Men’s road bike category, there was a clear winner with Ciaran Rowett over four minutes ahead of the next riders. In a battle for second, Caron CC riders Mike Fitch and Gwion James both recorded the same times to share second place, with their 29.10. In third place Martin Williams in 30.05.

In the ladies road bike category, Elaine Rowlands took the win in 31.35.

Well done to all the riders that competed on the night, and thank you to the TT organisers, our special time keepers Ken and Glyn and the marshals Scott and Gwen, all helping to make the evening a great event and ensuring the safety of the riders.

Catalina Architecture TT Series Round 11 (Cwm Rheidol)
Caron Owen Pugh (11.05) 22.49
Ciaran Rowett R (12.10) 24.54
Emma Palfrey (12.27) 25.33
Anita Saycell (13.11) 27.30
Mike Fitch R (14.02) 29.10
Gwion James R (14.00) 29.10
Martin Williams R (14.36) 30.05
Toby Driver R (14.40) 30.10
Elaine Rowlands R (15.04) 31.35
Dave Reed R (16.15) 34.40
Ken Williams & Glyn Evans
Scott Tompsett & Gwen

Emma Palfrey setting a course time for the ladies on the Cwm Rheidol course (photo credit Ade Price)
Ken Williams and Glyn Evans timekeeping for the riders