Men’s Course Record smashed

Ystwyth CC report – round 14 – Wednesday 4th July

As we enter the month of July, riders get side-tracked watching Wimbledon, the Fifa World Cup or even the Tour de France, but not the Ystwyth CC time-trialists! With a slight change in the weather and the sun disappearing behind the clouds, round 14 saw 18 riders register for the Llety Gwyn 10 mile time trial which proved to be a fast night with many riders setting new personal best times.

In the men’s event, Gruff Lewis took the win and a fantastic new course record in a  time of 20.55 min.  Second place went to Ieuan Andy Davies in a time of 22min 23sec, and third place to Steffan Roberts in a time of 22min 57sec.

In the women’s event, Anita Saycell took the win in a time of 25min 47sec. Second place went to an up and coming younger rider Lowri Richards, in a time of 27min and 57sec, and third place to Katie Miles in a time of 28min 45sec following her win the day before on the Caron Cycling Club 10 mile course.

In the road bike category, Arwel Jones took the top spot in a time of 24min 14sec.  Second place went to Alex Lowe in a time of 26min 31sec and third place went to Lowri Richards in a time of 27min 57sec.

Next week the event returns to the Cwm Rheidol course with a start time of 7:00pm.

Llety Gwyn 10 / Wednesday July 5th

1. Gruff Lewis 20.55
2. Ieuan Andy Davies 22.23
3. Steffan Roberts 22.57
4. Arwel Jones 24.14 (R)
5. Shelley Childs 24.48
6. Ian Stevens 24.51
7. Martyn Saycell 25.11
8. Paul Brewer 25.20
9. Dafydd Wright 25.54
10.Anita Saycell 25.47
11. Alex Lowe 26.31 (R)
12. Rhodri Duffee 27.10
13. Lowri Richards 27.57 (R)
14. David Wright 28.43 (R)
15. Katie Miles 28.45 (R)
16. Gari Jones 28.54 (R)
17. Nia Peris 30.21 (R)
18. Nia Richards 32.49 (R)

(R) Road Bike

Gruff Lewis on his way to setting a new men’s course record (photo credit: Aled Richards)

Arwel Jones on his way to a new personal best and a win in the road bike category (photo credit: Aled Richards)