Catalina Architecture & Design Ltd TT Series 2023 – Round 8

This Wednesday saw riders take on round 8 of the Catalina Architecture & Design Ltd TT Series 2023. Due to traffic lights on the course, the riders were ‘treated’ to a shorter 6.8 mile TT.

It was great to see new as well as returning riders this week on the start line, especially Karen and Chris racing their first TT on a tandem! The weather stayed dry, but there was a fairly strong breeze from the south west, not making it an easy TT for the riders.

In the men’s category it was great to see Caron back racing the TTs and holding his form for a strong win on the night. Chasing him down was Ieuan Andy, in top shape from his three recent Welsh Championship wins. Completing the men’s podium in third place was Llion, who is showing his strength this season and still only a junior rider.

In the women’s event, it was great to see Emma Palfrey back riding the TTs and racing strongly to take the win.

The road bike category saw Ieuan Andy take the win, then only 23 seconds behind was junior rider Llion and for the third place, chasing down his son, saw Rhodri cross the line to complete the podium.

Well done to all the riders! A full list of the upcoming TTs can be found here.

Thanks to Andy H for organising, and all the time keepers and marshals, without you all there would be no racing!

Next week the course returns to the flatter Llety Gwyn 10 mile course, everyone welcome! Come along to test yourself against the clock and enjoy a catch up afterwards.

(thanks to Bethan for the photos)

Overall Men

1st – Caron Owen Pugh 15.09

2nd – Ieuan Andrew Davies R 15.50

3rd – Llion Rees-Jenkins R 16.13

Overall Ladies

1st – Emma Palfrey 18.15

2nd – Anita Saycell 18.44

Men’s road bike category winners:

1st – Ieuan Andrew Davies R 15.50

2nd – Llion Rees-Jenkins R 16.13

3rd – Rhodri Jenkins R 18.23

Catalina Architecture & Design Ltd TT Series 2023 – Round 8. Cwmrheidol Short Course 6.8miles
Caron Owen Pugh 15.09
Ieuan Andrew Davies R 15.50
Llion Rees-Jenkins R 16.13
Tony Jones 17.29
Emma Palfrey 18.15
Rhodri Jenkins R 18.23
Anita Saycell 18.44
Ade Price 19.11
Chris Ware & Karen Isobel Tandem 19.26
Elaine Rowlands & Scott Tompsett

R = no tri bars