Caron takes the win – Catalina Architecture & Design TT Series (Round 2).

With thirteen riders signing on, it promised to be a great evening on this week’s flatter Llety Gwyn 10 mile course. Each rider there to test themselves against the clock and record a 2023 time on this course.

The rain stayed away and the wind remained steady from the south west, which helped the riders slightly on the return leg.

Each rider is set off at 1 minute intervals, which gives an incentive to either catch the person in front or not be caught by riders behind you!

The overall win on the night went to Ystwyth CC rider, Caron Pugh, riding strongly to cross the line in 22.01, which is only seconds away from the course club record he set himself in 2022 with his 21.56.

Taking overall second place and on a road bike, Ieuan Andy (Caffi Gruff) with an impressive 23.45 and closely followed by Daf Wright (Caffi Gruff), having swapped to the road bike this week, clocking a fast time of 24.06 to complete the overall podium.

In the ladies category only one rider on the night, Anita crossed the line in 27.10.

Overall Men

1st – Caron Owen Pugh (22.01)

2nd – Ieuan Andrew Davies (23.45)

3rd – Daf Wright (24.06)

Overall Ladies

1st – Anita Saycell (27.10)

Men’s road bike category winners:

1st – Ieuan Andrew Davies (23.45)

2nd – Daf Wright (24.06)

3rd – Arwel Wyn Jones (25.52)

Next week the series heads back to the Cwm Rheidol 10 mile course. These are great events for all riders to come and test yourself against the clock, get a good workout and catch up afterwards. If it’s your first time let us know and we can chat through the event. All welcome!

These events cannot go ahead without the organisation and help on the night, thanks to go to Andy Hunt, Derek Rattray and Glyn Williams, making the event possible.

Full details of the series can be found here:

2023 Catalina Architecture Time Trial Series – Clwb Beicio Ystwyth Cycling Club

Full Results:

Catalina Architecture & Design TT Series 2023
Round 2.

Caron Owen Pugh (11.15) 22.01
Ieuan Andrew Davies R (11.49) 23.45
Daf Wright R (12.00) 24.06
Paul Brewer (12.39) 25.23
Dylan Gwynn-Jones (12.35) 25.34
Arwel Wyn Jones R (12.48) 25.52
Iestyn Stephens (13.08) 26.15
Anita Saycell (13.45) 27.10
Reggie Middleton R (13.39) 27.33
Mike Fitch R (14.57) 29.44
Tim Strang R (14.46) 30.05
Ian Brandreth R (15.25) 30.43
David Wright R (15.42) 30.44
Andy Hunt & Derek Rattray
Chief Marshall
Glyn Williams

Note: R – No tri bars

Caron on his way to take the overall win (photo credit: Jonathan Price)