Ystwyth CC riding strongly at the Welsh Circuit Race Championships

Lois and Leah Brewer lined up for the Welsh Circuit Race Championships on Sunday 12 September. Damp and overcast conditions welcomed the small field of only 9 riders and early on there seemed to be little appetite to race hard. Lois and Leah tried several probing attacks, but these were shut down quickly with other riders seemingly content to ride steady, anticipating a final bunch sprint. A decisive move went with a little over 5 laps to go when Emily Tillet (the eventual winner) and Gwenno Hughes broke free. The remaining group began in fracture in pursuit of the leaders but were unable to make the catch. In the final sprint for 3rd, Lois was beaten by half a wheel and so just missed out on her first podium.

Congratulations also to all the local riders that were racing and well done to Griff Lewis (Bike Performance RC) winning the junior men’s Welsh Championship, Ieuan Andy Davies (Caffi Gruff) on taking the win in the Masters 50+ Men Championship and Lowri Richards (Backstedt Bike Performance RC) on her bronze podium placing in the U16 Girls Championship.

This weekend (18th/19th September) sees the Welsh Road and Time Trial Championships in Newcastle Emlyn. Good luck to all the riders racing in the Ystwyth CC jersey over the weekend; Tony Jones, Eva Marshall, Richard Eakins and Anita Saycell.

Welsh Circuit Race Championship 2021