Round 2 Catalina Architecture TT Series – 12th May 2021

Wednesday night (12th May) saw the second round of the inaugural Catalina Architecture TT Series, which proved an exciting night.

Local riders were joined by the Wales Racing Academy Squad to take on the 10 mile Llety Gwyn course.

With great riding conditions, there were some fantastic fast and personal best times from all the riders.

The quality of the field showed through with 10 riders out of the 20 riding dipping under the 23 minute barrier.

The overall first women’s place with a storming time of 22.20, was visiting Elite rider Leah Dixon from Wales Racing Academy Squad who races for Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank. Leah also set a new women’s course record.

In second place and setting a new personal best time, Emma Palfrey flew around the course in 25.53, closely followed by Lowri Richards, with a storming ride and also setting a new personal best time with 26.21.

In the men’s overall category the podium positions were hotly contested with only 7 seconds separating all three riders. The overall win on the night went to the flying Finlay Tarling in 21.02 racing for (WORX Factory Racing). Taking the second spot, was Will Roberts (Wales Racing Academy Squad) crossing the line 5 seconds down with 21.07 and Harvey McNaughton (Wales Racing Academy Squad) only 2 seconds later to complete the podium.

The road bike winners on the night, both young local riders and storming the course were Lowri Richards, with her time of 26.21 and Thomas Mason with his time of 26.45.

The night was not just about the young talent, a special mention goes to Ystwyth CC rider Martin Williams setting a new 10 mile club age record.

Congratulations and thank you to all the riders that competed on the night, and a very big thank you to the TT organisers, race photographer Aled Richards and to everybody that assisted on the night to ensure the safety of the riders.

Next week the series returns to the Cwm Rheidol 10 mile course:

Results of round 2 Catalina Architecture TT Series – 12th May 2021 (Llety Gwyn)

Finlay Tarling 21.02
Will Roberts 21.07
Harvey McNaughton 21.09
William Truelove 21.14
Joe Holt 21.43
Owain Roberts 21.44
Leah Dixon 22.20
Liam James-Morris 22.42
Caron Owen Pugh 22.49
Matthew Burle 23.13
Emma Palfrey 25.53
Jonathan Price 26.04
Dylan Jones 26.11
Lowri Richards 26.21
Thomas Mason 26.45
Andy Starr 27.59
Martin Williams 30.02
Scott Tompsett & Gerwyn Humphreys 2up 30.47
Dave Reed 35.44

Andy Hunt & Derek Rattray
Andrew Davies, Paul Tedaldi, Elaine Rowlands, Nia Richards, Helen Jackson
& Anita Saycell

Lowri Richards storming to win the ladies road bike category winner (Photo credit: Aled Richards)
Finlay Tarling on his way to take the overall men’s win (Photo credit: Aled Richards)
Leah Dixon setting a new course record and taking the overall ladies win (Photo credit: Aled Richards)
Thomas Mason on his way to take the road bike category win
Martin Williams setting a new Ystwyth CC 10 mile age course record (Photo Credit: Paul Tedaldi)