More records tumble on a windy Cwm Rheidol TT course – Wednesday 13th June 2018

Ystwyth CC report – round 11 – Wednesday 13th June 2018

With a cooler evening than previous weeks and a stronger breeze, round 11 saw 15 riders register for the Statkraft, Cwm Rheidol 10 mile time trial. Starting at the Statkraft Visitor Centre, in the Rheidol Valley.  The riders take the undulating course back to the A44 roundabout before returning to the visitor centre.

With the promise of cakes and coffee as a reward for their efforts, this event is becoming a key social event in the time trial series.

In the men’s event, local rider Gruff Lewis riding for Ribble Pro Cycling, continues to show fantastic form, taking the win in a time of 21min 03sec and in the process setting a new course mens’s record.
Second place went to Ieuan Andy Davies in a time of 22min 39sec who also rode into the club record books setting a new course age record, closely followed by Steffan Roberts showing strong form in third place in a time of 23min 33sec.

In the ladies event, triathlete Sara Mela  took the win with a strong ride crossing the line in 28min 37sec. Second place went to Nia Peris in a time of 30min 18sec, and third place to Toria Jamieson in a time of 31min 20sec.

In the road bike category, Adam Hepburn took the top spot in a time of 24min 06sec which also gave him 4th overall rider.  Second place went to Ciaran Rowett in a time of 24min 37sec and third place went to Pete Jenkins in a time of 27min 07sec.

The club would like to wish all the riders participating in the Ship and Castle 100 mile charity ride on Saturday 16th June 2018 all the best with their ride.

Next week the event returns to the Llety Gwyn course with a start time of 7pm.

Ieuan Andy Davies set a new course record for his age
(Photo credit – thanks to Aled Richards)

Cwmrheidol 10. 13/6/18

1. Gruff Lewis 21.03
2. Ieuan Andy Davies 22.39
3. Steffan Roberts 23.33
4. Adam Hepburn R 24.06
5. Ciaran Rowett R 24.37
6. Paul Jones 25.13
7. Shelley Childs 25.26
8. Dafydd Wright 26.52
9. Peter Jenkins R 27.07
10. Rhodri Duffee 27.16
11. Sara Mela R 28.37
12. Rhodri Jenkins R 29.17
13. David Wright R 29.52
14. Nia Peris R 30.18
15. Toria Jamieson R 31.20