Ten riders brave a windy Devil’s Bridge Hilly

On probably the most scenic and challenging TT courses in Wales, 10 riders signed on to take on the challenge of the Ystwyth CC 22 mile Devil’s Bridge course.

With a strong south westerly wind, the riders would benefit from a tail/crosswind for the majority of the climbing sections but face a difficult descent from Nant Yr Arian back to the finish line.

Even in the challenging conditions, only 4 seconds separated the top two places and 5 riders coming in under the 1 hour mark.  Taking the win in a fantastic time of 55 minutes and 17 seconds was Danny Thorogood; followed closely in second place by Ieuan Andy Davies in 55min and 21 seconds. Third place, in 56mins and 50 seconds went to TT organiser Andy Hunt.

Chris McClean took the win on the road bike category in an impressive time of 58 minutes and 8 seconds.

In the Female race, Helen Marshall took the win in a time of 1 hour 10 minutes and 32seconds.

Thank you again to the marshals.   Next week the time trial returns to the Llety Gwyn 10 mile course with the expectation of another fast night of time trialling.

Devil’s Bridge Hilly 22 mile TT

Danny Thorogood 00:55:17
Ieuan Andy Davies 00:55:21
Andy Hunt 00:56:50
Chris McLean 00:58:08 (R)
Paul Jones 00:59:38
Caron Pugh 01:01:43 (R)
Martyn Saycell 01:02:21
Dan Field 01:06:25
Dilwyn Williams 01:06:30 (R)
Helen Marshall 01:10:32

(R) No Tri Bars