Gruff Lewis takes the Ystwyth CC hilly 22 mile time trial win

18 riders took on the challenge of the Ystwyth CC hilly 22 mile time trial.  Bathed in glorious early evening sunshine with a southerly wind, the riders made the ascent to Devils Bridge before heading across to Ponterwyd and a short ascent up to Nant Yr Arian.  With a fast 7 mile descent back to the finish line, this was an ideal opportunity for the fast and brave to make up time.  Joined by Madison Genesis rider, Gruff Lewis, the conditions were ideal for a fast night.

Pro rider Gruff Lewis took the win in an impressive 52min and 1 sec, with Andrew Poole, Ieuan Andy Davies and Gareth Hodgson all hitting 55 minutes.  Danny Thorogood once again shows consistency in his riding with 56min 18 sec performance.  Richard Eakins took the spoils in the road bike category with an impressive 57min 38 seconds.

Leah Brewer, following a strong performance in the AberCyleFest crit race, was the first female back in a strong 1hr 7min 55 sec closely followed by Helen Marshall in 1hour 8 min and 2 sec.

Next week the riders return to the 10 mile time trial distance on the Llety Gwyn course, with the sign on from 6.15pm at Plascrug Leisure Centre.

Devils Bridge Hilly 31/5/17

1 Gruff Lewis 52.01
2 Andrew Poole 55.01
3 Ieuan Andy Davies 55.32
4 Gareth Hodgson 55.46
5 Danny Thorogood 56.18
6 Richard Eakins (R)57.38
7 Paul Brewer 1.00.35
8 Phil Evans (R) 1.01.54
9 Caron Pugh (R) 1.02.01
10 Kyle Banks (R) 1.03.39
11 Martyn Saycell 1.03.57
12 Leah Brewer 1.07.55
13 Helen Marshall 1.08.02
14 Johnny Ryan (R) 1.09.03
15 Leif Skot (R) 1.09.36
16 Rhodri Duffee 1.11.13
17 Andy Hamilton (R) 1.11.16
18 Andy Starr (R) 1.11.29