Catalina Architecture & Design TT series 2024 – Round 1 results

It was great to see the return of the TT series. The 13 riders were treated to the scenic but rolling, Cwm Rheidol 10 mile course. Testing out their legs for the first event of the year.

Well done to all the riders! Next week the TT series heads to the flatter Llety Gwyn 10 mile course, see the full list of dates and courses here: 2024 Catalina Architecture Time Trial Series – Clwb Beicio Ystwyth Cycling Club

Results Round 1:

Finlay Tarling 20.33
Caron Owen Pugh 22.29
Richard Pizzey 22.36
Tim Davies 24.32
Arwel Wyn Jones 24.59
Emma Palfrey 26.04
Paul Brewer 26.14
Kristian Bond 26.17
Adrian Price 27.35
Anita Saycell 29.05
David Bond 32.27
Mike Fitch 33.54
Simon Williams 34.33

A full list of the courses and dates for 2024 can be found here: 2024 Catalina Architecture Time Trial Series – Clwb Beicio Ystwyth Cycling Club

Thank you to all the riders, and to Andy H, Derek, Scott and Elaine for all their help on the night, making the event possible.

If you are tempted to try a Time Trial, but not sure what to expect?

Check out the Ystwyth TT video: Time Trials – Clwb Beicio Ystwyth Cycling Club

Mike preparing to start the first TT of the year:

SPOT Suicide Prevention Session

Ystwyth Cycle Club funded this 90 minute session, held on Friday 9th February and invited all riders from the club, past and current to attend this training session. The session was delivered by Billie from Papyrus, who the club have been working alongside with, over the last six months.

It was a really useful and well delivered session, which we all took away more knowledge and information.

Over the 90 minutes the session covered;

  • To understand the prevalence and impact of suicide
  • To explore the language, and the challenges, when talking openly about suicide
  • To recognise the ‘signs’ that may indicate someone is having thoughts of suicide
  • To consider how we can all contribute to a suicide safer community.

Thank you to Billie from Papyrus for delivering this really informative and useful session for Ystwyth Cycle Club.

Next café meet up ride – Sunday 11th February

Following the great feedback from 2023, the club are continuing the monthly café meet up rides.

The concept is simple, join one of the advertised Sunday rides on the 11th February, or make your own way to Yr Hen Lew Du, Bridge Street, Aberystwyth, for 11.30am for plenty of homemade delicious cake and coffee paid for by the club. Everyone welcome on or off the bike!!

Just to note that for the February monthly café ride, we are aiming for all riders to be at Plascrug Leisure Centre for 9.15am, in club kit (if possible), because we’re presenting a cheque to the charity Papyrus for the money raised from the Memorial Ride and the raffle at the club dinner.

There’s plenty of bike storage inside the pub if you cycle there and a warm welcome for everyone!

2024 Club Membership now live!

Become an Ystwyth CC member for 2024.

Join online: Membership – Clwb Beicio Ystwyth Cycling Club

Paper membership forms available in Summit Cycles.

The membership year runs from January to December.

Senior – £20 (+ £1 admin fee)
Student – £15 (+ £1 admin fee)
Junior (17-18yrs.) – £7 (+ £1 admin fee)
Youth (0-16yrs.) – £5 (+ £1 admin fee)

Need any further help? Contact the Ystwyth CC Club Membership Secretary:
Andy Davies

Annual Dinner & Awards 2023

It was great to get together again for the club annual dinner and awards, and big thanks to Elaine, for her hard work in organising the event for everyone.

The club returned to Tafarn Y Maes for a great welcome, top food and drinks.

During the meal riders took part in the raffle with lots of prizes on offer, including two vouchers kindly donated by our club sponsor Summit Cycles. We were also able to auction a fantastic signed print of Geraint Thomas, generously donated by Huw Fairclough.

We raised a total of £221 for the suicide prevention charity Papyrus. This amount will be added to the total raised during the memorial ride and presented to Papyrus.

Thanks to everyone that kindly donated prizes for the raffle, bought tickets and made a bid in the auction.

After the excitement of the auction and raffle, it was onto the awards, and a chance to recognise riders for their achievements as well as commitment to the club.

The 2023 winners announced on the night;

Men’s TT League Winner – Caron Pugh

Women’s TT League Winner – Anita Saycell

Handicap TT winner – Arwel Jones

Club person of the year – Derek Rattray & Andy Hunt

Club Road Race Award – Leah Brewer

Hilly TT – Richard Pizzey

Hill Climb – Richard Pizzey

Most Improved – Glyn Williams

Club Mountain Biker of the Year – Dylan Williams


Award photos from the evening:

Handicap TT winner – Arwel Jones

Most Improved – Glyn Williams

Women’s TT League Winner – Anita Saycell

Men’s TT League Winner – Caron Pugh

Club person of the year – Derek Rattray & Andy Hunt

Thanks to everyone that was able to attend and made it an enjoyable evening. The next club event is the Mince Pie Ride on the 17th December – more details to follow.