Round 16 Catalina Architecture TT Series – Cwm Rheidol 18th August

The conditions were good for the last 10 mile time trial of the year. The twelve riders enjoyed their last chance to test their legs over the gently rolling Cwm Rheidol course.

The evening was dominated by the Caffi Gruff race team, who took the top three overall placings. Dafydd Wright stormed the course to take the overall win in a fantastic time of 22.02. Steffan James took the road bike win and second overall in a storming ride of 23.42, while Jack Ramsbottom proving he can take on hills and time trials took the third overall place in 23.42.

In the ladies event, Emma Palfrey took the overall win with a storming ride to finish in 26.08. Anita Saycell took the second spot in 27.25 and Elaine Rowlands, current V50 course record holder took the third overall place and the road bike win in 31.40.

On the evening Mike Fitch proved age is no barrier and set the fastest recorded time on the course for the V70 age group with his time of 29.08.

Well done to all the riders that competed on the night, and a thank you to the TT organisers, time keepers and marshall’s that assisted on the night to ensure the safety of the riders.

Next week the series returns to the Devil’s Bridge Hilly course on the 25th August and then the final round, Sunday 5th September on the 1 mile Clarach hill climb.

Catalina Architecture TT Series Round 16 – Cwm Rheidol
Dafydd Wright 22.02
Steffan James 23.42
Jack Ramsbottom 23.42
Llion Rees-Jenkins 24.29
Andy Hunt 24.57
Rhodri Jenkins 25.45
Emma Palfrey 26.08
Anita Saycell 27.25
Adam Smith 27.56
Owen Thomas 28.48
Mike Fitch 29.08
Elaine Rowlands 31.40
Derek Rattray & Andrew Davies
Scott Tompsett. Gwen & Osian

Overall winner on the night Dafydd Wright (Photo credit: Ade Price)