Catalina Architecture TT Series sees the course record smashed

Wednesday (5th August) proved to be an exciting night for local time trialling. The Cwm Rheidol 10 mile time trial course was broken not by one but by two riders on the night.

The course record was set in 2018 by Gruff Lewis and has stood for two years at 21.03. Round 3 of the Catalina Architecture TT series saw Gruff Lewis break his own record and set the bar higher with 20.51. Junior rider Josh Tarling also broke the previous course record on the night and crossed the line in second place with a blistering time of 20.57. Ieuan Andy Davies completed the overall podium with third place and first V50 rider, 22.34.

First male V40 across the line on the night was Scott Tompsett having a great season so far and finishing in 23.43.

The men’s road bike category saw Richard Eakins take the win in 24.25, followed by junior riders Gerwyn Humpheys taking second place and Gwion Humpheys completing the podium in third place. Both Gerwyn and Gwion were riding cross bikes and completing their first time trial.

The ladies podium saw Eva Marshall take the win on the night with 28.09, closely followed by Lowri Richards in 28.14, and Elaine Rowlands in third place and first V50 rider with 32.05.

Well done to all the riders and thank you to the time keepers Andy H and Derek R and marshals Nia R and Helen J for their help.

Elaine Rowlands riding her way to third lady overall and 1st V50 lady. Photo credit: Aled Richards

Catalina Architecture TT Series 2020 Rd3
Gruffudd Lewis 20.51
Joshua Tarling 20.57
Ieuan Andrew Davies 22.34
Finlay Tarling 22.44
Rhys Evans 23.07
Caron Owen Pugh 23.19
Scott Tompsett 23.43
Richard Eakins R 24.25
Eva Marshall R 28.09
Lowri Richards R 28.14
Elaine Rowlands R 32.05
Gerwyn Humphreys R 32.23
Gwion Humphreys R 33.28
Andy Hunt & Derek Rattray
Nia Richards & Helen Jackson