Ystwyth CC Time Trial – Round 3

Llety Gwyn 10 – 18th April 2018
In glorious spring sunshine with a blustery south westerly wind, 32 riders signed on for round 3 of
the Ystwyth CC time trial series.
With conditions better than the previous two rounds and the temperature rising, quicker times were
anticipated but the strong headwind would limit the chance of a course record going. It was also
good to see Pro Rider Gruff Lewis in attendance racing for the Ribble Pro Cycling team.
In the popular road bike category, Gruff Lewis took top spot and the fastest time of the night in
22min 31sec; second place went to Clint Middleton in a time of 26min 37sec; and third place went to
Endaf Williams in a time of 27min 14sec.
In the main TT event, the women’s competition saw a competitive field in the start line, with 6 riders
competing. Anita Saycell took the win with a strong performance of 26min 12sec; second spot went
to Helen Marshall in a time of 27.07sec; third place went to Emma Palfrey in a time of 28min 18sec.
In the men’s event, Gruff Lewis dominated with a time of 22min 31sec; second place went to Ieuan
Andy Davies in a time of 23min 24sec; and third place went to a young West Wales Race Team rider
Josh Tarling in a time of 23min 34sec.
Again, the event was excellently marshalled by Andy Hunt and the crew.
Next week, the series moves to the Nant Yr Arian hilly course, a challenging 7 mile decent and 7 mile ascent. 
Llety Gwyn 10 – 18th April 2018

1. Gruff Lewis (R) 22.31
2. Ieuan Andy Davies 23.24
3. Josh Tarling 23.34
4. Daniel Davies 23.40
5. Michael Tarling 24.04
6. Steffan Owens 24.16
7. Steffan Roberts 24.17
8. Caron Pugh 24.32
9. Andrew Poole 24.36
10. Ian Stevens 25.23
11. Glyn Williams 25.38
12. Shelley Childs 25.50
13. Martyn Saycell 26.07
14. Anita Saycell 26.12
15. Paul Jones 26.21
16. Clint Middleton (R) 26.37
17. Helen Marshall 27.07
18. Andy Starr 27.13
19. Endaf Williams (R) 27.14
20. Dafydd Wright 27.16
21. Alex Lowe (R) 27.53
22. Jack Ramsbottom (R) 27.59
23. Emma Palfrey 28.18
24. Rhodri Duffee 28.23
25. Andy Purkiss (R) 28.44
26. Leif Skot (R) 29.09
27. Shannon Haird 29.19
28. Alan Haird (R) 29.30
29. Rhodri Jenkins (R) 30.22
30. Sarah Hawkins (R) 30.37
31. Nia Peris (R) 30.52
Danny Thorogood DQ