Llety Gwyn 10 19/7/17

With damp humid conditions, 24 riders signed on for the Ystwyth CC 10 mile time trial on the Llety Gwyn course.

With an unfavourable south westerly wind, riders would find both outward and return sections challenging.

However, this did not curtail a competitive evening.  In the women’s event, the competition was hot, with 2nd cat rider Anita Saycell taking the win and setting a new course record in 26min and 9secs and taking 7th place overall.  8th and 9th position overall were also secured by two female riders, 8th place overall and 2nd in the female competition by experienced TT rider Helen Marshall in 26min and 31 seconds and new club member, and experienced triathlete Emma Palfrey in 9th and 3rd in the female competition with a 26min 46 seconds.  Lois and Leah Brewer continue to show consistency with their riding taking 4th and 5th place respectively with Angharad Jones taking the road bike category win. 

In the two up event, Shannon Haird and Lowri Richards came under the 29 min mark with a time of 28min and 59 seconds.

In the men’s event, Chris Goldstein in his first TT and riding a road bike broke the 30 min barrier with a 29min and 38 seconds.

Ieuan Andy Davies continues to dominate the top spot with a PB time of 22min 24sec, closely followed by experienced triathlete Andrew Poole in second place with a time of 22min and 53 sec.  Andy Hamilton continues to improve taking 3rd place on the night and setting a new PB of 24min 7 seconds.

Again, thank you Andy Hunt and his team of marshals for a fantastic event.  Next week, the riders’ take on the challenge of the Devils Bridge course over a hilly 22mile route starting at 6:30pm.

Llety Gwyn 10  –  19/7/17

1 Ieuan Andy Davies 22.24
2 Andrew Poole 22.53
3 Andy Hamilton 24.07
4 Martyn Saycell 25.22
5 Dan Field 25.25
6 Paul Brewer 25.47
7 Anita Saycell 26.09
8 Helen Marshall 26.31
9 Emma Palfrey 26.46
10 Andy Starr 26.50
11 Ian Stevens (R) 27.03
12 Caron Pugh (R) 27.07
13 Lois Brewer 27.21
14 Alan Haird (R) 27.23
15 Rhodri Duffee 27.25
16 Dafydd Wright 27.50
17 Aled Richards (R) 27.57
18 Leah Brewer 27.59
19 David Wright (R) 28.10
20 Llyr Morgan (R) 28.55
21 Shannon Haird & Lowri Richards 28.59
22 Chris Goldstein (R) 29.38
23 Angharad Jones (R) 34.57

(R) No tri bars