Ieuan Andy Davies takes top spot in the Ystwyth CC 10 mile time trial

With the sun setting majestically down the Rheidol valley, 27 riders, the highest number in 2017, took part in the latest Ystwyth CC 10 mile time trial.  On the challenging course known as the Cwm Rheidol 10, riders tackle the technical corners and climbs out to the A44 roundabout and back.  With a slight headwind on the outward leg, the riders were optimistic at the start line of the  benefit from the tailwind on the hillier return leg of the course.

A record 10 female riders competed in the event, many riding a time trial for the first time which is fantastic.  The first female rider home on a TT bike was Helen Marshall in a competitive time of 26min and 58 seconds, also putting her in 11th position on the night.  This was followed in second place by Emma Palfrey in 27min 14 seconds and third place went to Shannon Haird in a time of 29min 4 seconds.

In the two up category, Layla Skot Parker and Leif Skot took the win in 28min and 37seconds closely followed by Lowri Norrington Davies and Derek Rattray in 31min and 24 seconds.

In the men’s event, 15 riders took to the start line. With the sun setting, and feeling no side effect from a fantastic win on Tuesday evening at the Llandow circuit, Ieuan Andy Davies took pole position in a time of 22min and 39seconds, this was followed in second place by the consistent Danny Thorogood in a time of 23min and 14 seconds. In third place, following a few weeks absence, Andrew Poole produced a solid 23min 39seconds.

First roadie home saw Jack Woolley take 4th spot overall in a very impressive time of 24min and 1 second.

Riders were treated to free coffee and cake after the event, providing an ideal opportunity to discuss the evening’s event.

Thanks again, must go to Andy Hunt, TT coordinator and his team of volunteers and contributors to the Ystwyth CC bake off.

Cwmrheidol 10  12/7/17

1 Ieuan Andy Davies 22.39

2 Danny Thorogood 23.14

3 Andrew Poole 23.39

4 Jack Woolley (R) 24.01

5 Paul Jones 24.37

6 Martyn Saycell 25.10

7 Andy Hamilton 25.14

8 Shelley Childs 25.50

9 Scott Tomsett 25.54

10 Andy Starr 26.53

11 Helen Marshall 26.58

12 Endaf Williams (R) 27.03

13 Emma Palfrey 27.14

14 Dafydd Wright 28.18

15 Rhodri Duffee 28.19

16 Layla Skot Parker & Leif Skot (R) 28.37

17 Shannon Haird 29.04

18 David Wright (R) 29.05

19 Lowri Richards (R) 29.56

20 Ian Brandreth (R) 30.56

21 Heulwen Lloyd (R) 30.58

22 Derek Rattray & Lowri Norrington Davies 31.34

23 Nia Richards (R) 32.07

24 Kim Jones 35.29

25 Angharad Jones  (R) 36.13

(R) No tri bars